Denver City

Independent School District

Building the future - One student at a time

Upcoming Events

View Calendar


  •  Completion of DCHS campus slated for 2018

    DCHS Aerial  DCHS Street View

    Construction continues at a rapid and steady pace on the new Denver City High School campus. According to architect Craig Wallace of Stiles, Wallace and Associates, the projected completion date will be at the end of next Summer. The high school will house ample classroom space, complete with state-of-the-art science labs, a lecture hall, a cosmetology lab, a fine arts facility, a special education wing, a performing arts center and a ballroom-type basement that can be used as an instructional testing facility as well as for community events, meetings, gatherings and as a storm shelter. Knox, Gailey & Meador is doing the actual construction project on the high school and at the DCISD Ag Farm facility.


    Erin English to make her 8th appearance in state speaking contest 

    DCHS girls place at UIL state meet

    Senior Claire Seymour and sophomore Kenzi Stephens both placed 5th at the Conference AAAA UIL Academic State Meet at the University of Texas in their respective events. Seymour earned her medal in Computer Applications, while Stephens placed in Headline Writing.

    The was Stephens second second trip to the UIL State meet after having placed third in Headline Writing last year as a freshman.  Senior Jacee Billings also competed at the State meet in Spelling and Vocabulary but did not place. 


    Senior Erin English will be competing in Persuasive Speaking at the UIL State Speech meet on May 22-23 at the University of Texas at Austin. This will make English's third state appearance this year. She competed at the state level in Congress and C-X Debate. In the last four years, English has represented DCHS at the state level eight times. She qualified for UIL State Congress four times, C-X Debate three times and this will be her eighth appearance. 

    Congratulations to these students and their sponsors and coaches, Mrs. Stacie Decker-Robles, Mrs. Tammy Bailey and Mrs. Sonya Gore.


    Band earns 6th straight Sweepstakes

    DCHS Director of Bands, Jerry Rodriquez continued his winning ways by earning the school's 6th consecutive UIL Sweepstakes in as many years at the UIL Concert and Sightreading contest on Wednesday, April 19 at Wayland Baptist University in Plainview. The band earned Division I ratings from all three judges in both areas of competition.

    Mr. Rodriguez took over the award-winning program in 2012 after Mr. David Rollins retired from the district.  Prior to that, Mr. David Riker set the bar of success for many years with his outstanding bands. 

    Congratulations to Mr. Rodriquez and his staff for another outstanding year. 


DCHS Makes a STATEment

  • DCHS Makes a STATEment with the following State Qualifiers:


    UIL Academics
    Kenzi Stephens (Headlines), Kaitlin Stephens (Features), Claire Seymour (Computer Applications), Jacee Billings (Spelling) & Erin English (Persuasive Speaking)
    Coaches: Stacie Decker-Robles, Tammy Bailey and Sonya Gore

    Texas Assoc. of Community Schools Academic Challenge
    Marlow Davis, Holden Sutton, John Kidd, Macey Jordon, Kaden Cox, Novalee Aguinaga, Morgan Dial, Braden Galvan & Micah Mendoza
    Coaches: Jenny McCray & Amy Hill

    Grayce Riley & Abel Burciaga

    Coach:  Jarryd Taylor

    Visual Art Scholastic Event
    Mirella Yanez
    Instructor:  LeAnn Romines

    Cross-examination Debate
    Marlow Davis & Erin English
    Instructor:  Sonya Gore

    ATSSB All-State Band
    Abelardo Palma
    , 4th Chair Clarinet
    Instructors:  Jerry Rodriquez, Brandon Muller, Samantha Muller

    Ag Issues
    Riley Calk, Reagan Calk, Becca McCleskey, Dakota Fariss, Caitlin Williams
    Instructors:  Brandon Freel, Eric Harrel

    Congressional Debate
    Erin English & Cheyenne Beach
    Instructor:  Sonya Gore



    Broedy Burris
    , Discus
    Cole McLeroy, 100m, 200m 1600m Relay
    Luke Maxwell, 3200m, 1600m, 1600m Relay
    David Palma, 1600m Relay
    Jaryd Ivy, 1600m Relay
    Coaches: Bryce Green, Laura Taylor, Jaryd Taylor, Steve Taylor

    One-Act Play

    Chase Sandlin, Brice Brown, Kayla Martinez, Tommie Lynn Hicks, Denisse Saenz, Angel Castillo, Robert Mendoza, Abelardo Palma, Joel Palma, Taylor Dial, Braden Galvan, Oscar Hernandez, Marlow Davis, Maribel Burciaga, Veronica Villalobos, Grayce Riley, Sierra Banks, Erin English, Annabel Duke, Aaron Aremendariz, Kailee Galyon, Katie Hollon, Xylena Pillai, Josh Mills, Daron Pacheco, Ivan Esquivel
    Directors: Lisa Landry, Melisa Dorsett, Mandi Rogers

    Texas Association of Community Schools
    Cole McLeroy, Cristian Contreras, Tristan McGary, Marlow Davis, Katie Hollon, Bailey Marin, Karley David, Robert Mendoza, Hudson Sanders, Daniel Garcia
    Instructors:  Jenny McCray, Amy Woosley

    Visual Art Scholastic Event
    Mirella Yanez
    Instructor:  LeAnn Romines

    UIL Academics—Journalism

    Kenzi Stephens, News Writing
    Instructor:  Stacie Decker-Robles

    UIL Academics—Math
    Cameron Garcia, Number Sense
    Katy Patterson, Calculator
    Instructor:  Richie Cullins

    Jacee Billings
    Coach:  Rob Ogle

    FFA Milk Quality Team
    Nyla Reyes, Hailey Henderson, Adyssen Beck, Victoria Quezada, Naomi Gonzales
    Instructors:  Brandon Freel, Eric Harrel

    SkillsUSA Automotive
    Bailee Burkett, Julian Barrera, Joseph Valverde, Edwin Solis
    Instructor:  Scott Burkett

    Eduardo Hernandez
    Coach:  Jarryd Taylor

    Cross-X Debate
    Robert Mendoza, Erin English, Marlow Davis, Jacee Billings
    Instructor:  Sonya Gore

    Fillies Volleyball
    Karley David, Taylor Dial, Yesenia Trinidad, Kelsey Delarosa, Kodi Marion, Katy Patterson, Marlow Davis, Jacee Billings, Tommie Hicks, Logan McLeroy, Chanie Wingo, Macey Jordon, Denisse Saenz, Aubrey Burris, Claire Seymour
    Coaches:  Megan David, Jenny McCray, Kody Brown

    Marching Band
    Berenice Esquivel, Marisol Esmerado, Julissa Esparza, Victoria Flores, Eliana Flores, Lexi Lance, Leslie Madero, Cindy Rosas, Ashley Ramos, Elizabeth Rivera, Brianda Saenz, Maraly Solis, Natalie Soto, Hollie Villareal, Katy Hollon, Esmeralda Lomas, Mariana Polanco, McKenzie Black, Maribel Burciaga, Maricarmen Gandara, Stephanie Garcia, Alandra Levario, Isabel Lira-Cordero, Taylor Ranney, Ailin Ortega, Nidia Ceniceros, Gabby Salazar, Lisette Sanchez, Damaris Andrade, Brenda Corral, Denise Esmerado, Ruby Galindo, Kyara Hernandez, Sangha OH, Marlene Mojica, Leslie Prieto, Annisten Sandlin, Analyssa Vasquez, Abril Vasquez, Mirella Yanez, Andrea Zamarripa, Damaris Diaz, Kelly Ann Dougherty, Kate Hwang, Kennedy Larrea, Ashlyn Luther, Veronica Villalobos, Gladys Dominguez, Jacy Dyck, Yanelli Esparza, Jewel Santillan, Abby Ramirez, Kathleen Chavez, Hanna Gonzalez, Jennifer McCullough, Syxx Yzaguirre, Heidi Gonzalez, Erica Baker, Jackie Villegas, Haleigh Gonzalez, Kayla Martinez, Abby Morales, Roberto Mendoza, Isaac Ariza, Shane Castruita, Chandeler Ford, Hernan Gonzales, Michael Aranda, Abelardo Palma, Tyler Dyck, Joel Palma, Jesus Anaya, Brandon Cruz, Ethan Boulter, Brice Mansur, Luke Maxwell, Alonzo Quintana, Bailey Reyes, Isaiah Saenz, Jalon Salazar, Drake Sanchez, Nic Sellers, Mason Williams, Sebastian Garcia, Aaron Armendariz, Raydecel Carrasco, Edwin Fonseca, Eziquiel Gonzales, Everardo Rodriquez, Hunter Sandlin, Eric Escalante, Manuel Fonseca, Alan Gonzales, Daron Pacheco, Octavio Rascon, Richard Swadley, Francisco Trabado, Zechariah Zubiate, Chris Escalante, Joe Martinez, Ricardo Segovia, Joel Valverde
    Directors:  Jerry Rodriquez, Austin Snow, Jennifer Beck

    Cross Country
    Cas Moore
    Coach:  Laura Taylor

    Comments (-1)

District News